Fate/Apocrypha Episode 6: Back to the Servants

Click here to check this post out on my personal website.

Alright, looks like we’re back to Mordred…I suppose it’s hard to be the main character in a seven vs. seven deathmatch. I’m gonna stop commenting on fight animation in this series because I feel like I say the same things every week. I think there’s plenty more to say in this episode anyway.

Let’s start with Mordred. From her perspective, I think her past wasn’t particularly interesting. She’s really easy to boil down to “Daddy didn’t notice me”. On the other hand, Arturia’s motivations might be a bit more interesting. We’ve seen her vulnerabilities in other Fate series, so her reaction to a father-worshipping son is probably justified. Also, I’m not even gonna try with genders.

I didn’t mind this, though…

I can’t say I have an issue with sacrificing Gordes either.

This scene was just hilarious. Making Fran hate electricity is just a really nice touch.

I can’t tell whether they’re being serious with this character. She’s literally Dr. Octopus right now. But all of that aside, the cliffhanger at the end of the episode feels a bit cheap. I get the sense that her brother (the glasses guy) will show up to save her and potentially die himself. His comment about summoning Fran with a Command Spell if he gets in trouble seems very much like a death flag. Surely, they wouldn’t just make Fran disappear so early, right?

Leave your comments here

