Spring 2017 in Review

Click here to check this post out on my personal website.

Today’s kind of a slow day when it comes to shows I actually want to write about, so I’m going to put together a quick summary of Spring 2017 instead. Also, these posts have been pretty bare in the past, so I’m going to add actual comments. Imagine that. Order is completely random…

What I Liked

  • Tsuki ga Kirei – I was really surprised about this romance series. It started slow, but the romance seemed to progress really quickly, even if it might have seemed unrealistic at rare moments. My favorite part of the series was that the drama that got introduced was always resolved in a reasonable amount of time (often within the same episode). It didn’t dwell on misunderstandings to add tension.
  • Little Witch Academia (Part 2) – The series really picked it up in the second half. Most of the complaints I had from the first half about lack of focus on side characters and lack of a consistent story disappeared, so it was a much more enjoyable experience.
  • Boku no Hero Academia S2 – I didn’t remember the first season of this series appealing too much to me, so I was definitely surprised at how enjoyable the second season was. I liked how Deku is being forced to think more in fights without using his ability as much.
  • Quan Zhi Gao Shou – I talked about this show a lot in my other post, so I’ll try not to repeat myself. While this series certainly had its flaws, it was still pretty entertaining for a series focused on gaming.
  • Re:Creators – I was initially skeptical about this series, but it has become more enjoyable as I kept watching. The premise of the series was always a cool idea, but I’ve historically had issues with how it brushes aside certain topics that I find more interesting. It’s very meta, if you’re into that, and I think a lot of the characters are really solid (and consistent). That being said, other characters are a particular kind of insufferable.

Middle Area

  • Seikaisuru Kado – Sigh…I really liked this series, but the conclusion and the events leading up to that conclusion were a real deal-breaker for me. It started out as an interesting discussion about how we handle rapid advancement in human technology given to us by an outside force, but took a hard left to leave a drastically different message in the end.
  • Shingeki no Kyojin S2 – This is the part of the story where the series starts losing me. The series is still pretty hype, but meh…
  • Sakura Quest – Tourism is a weird subject, but this was still pretty realistic and entertaining for slice of life.
  • Oushitsu Kyoushi Haine – Surprisingly okay for a series with pretty much all-male characters.
  • Shuumatsu Nani Shitemasu ka? Isogashii desu ka? Sukutte Moratte Ii desu ka? – Did I say before that I would never spell out this entire title again? Well, I lied. You happy now? Anyway, this series definitely tugged at the emotional strings and had a pretty solid ending. Works for me.
  • Sakurada Reset – Kind of a dull show with confusing storytelling, but it brought up interesting ideas at times. This series probably has the most words from me in this season, so I think I have to give it credit.
  • Granblue Fantasy – This series was pretty simplistic with its pattern of taking the main characters from place to place as they recruited more crewmates, but it was surprisingly entertaining.

Meh

  • Alice to Zouroku – I can understand liking this show for Sana, but I think the first few episodes really tainted my opinion of the series overall.
  • Zero kara Hajimeru Mahou no Shou – I’ll go with the generic answer here and say that this show definitely had the Spice and Wolf feel from the beginning and fell apart when it tried to get too serious with Thirteen.
  • Rokudenashi Majutsu Koushi to Akashic Records – This series had the weirdest roller coaster. It initially turned me away, reeled me back in with interesting world mechanics, and then knocked me away again with a strangely rushed ending.
  • Busou Shoujo Machiavellianism – I really got nothing. It could have been worse.
  • Hinako Note – Way more ecchi than I was expecting.
  • Eromanga-sensei – The Twitter/blog drama around this series was fantastic.
  • Clockwork Planet – I really got lured in by the premise of this series and it ended up being something completely different.
  • Fukumenkei Noise – I know I tend to be pretty hard on music-related shows, but this series was often difficult to watch because of the music. There are only so many times I want to hear the main song of the series played and I definitely don’t need to hear the main characters singing “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star” more than once. That being said, I have to admit that the voice actress for the heroine did a good job of adjusting her singing for fluctuations in her character’s mood, something I don’t often see in music shows.
  • Kabukibu – I might have liked this series more if I found kabuki interesting. As it stands, the series was a constant repetition of the same events: the club gets a gig, something threatens to ruin the show right before it starts, and then one of the characters arrives at the last second to save the show.

RIP Dropped Section

You will never be used…

3 thoughts on “Spring 2017 in Review”

Leave your comments here

