Suka Suka Episode 12: One last thing

Click here to check this post out on my personal website.

Why didn’t anyone warn me about this ending? Jokes aside, I have to admit that I have an unnatural bias for bittersweet endings. Sure, the events of this episode seemed pretty tragic, but I liked how everything was framed. I think I harped a bit much on information gaps in the end, but I really did enjoy the episode overall.

Did I miss something? This line suggests that Willem considers these beasts to be former humans that he knew. Before, Rhan only suggested that beasts were a biological weapon based on humans. The fact that the dug weapon worked on beasts would also make sense if beasts were genetically based on human DNA. Maybe that’s a logical conclusion to draw, but I feel like there are plenty of other possibilities. So I wonder if I’m missing some supporting information.

Honestly, this whole “I can only fight” routine is nothing new, Willem.

Isn’t this the first time we’ve really seen Rhan fighting? It feels a bit weird to immediately show her being defeated by her own overconfidence. I guess it gives Willem a good excuse to save the day.

Who is this guy again? Was I supposed to remember him?

While this is a nice sentiment from Chtholly, I don’t understand the decision she’s making here. If she doesn’t choose to go back now and save Willem, what will happen to her? Will she be stuck watching the world with Elq forever? Last week, Elq made it sound like Chtholly was already done. If she already can never interact with the real world again, I don’t see how this is a sacrifice.

Poor Nephren. When Chtholly’s mind started deteriorating, it was a big dramatic event. Nephren’s case seems like an afterthought.

Have we ever really been told anything about venenum and what risks are associated with using it? Maybe I’m forgetting something, but this all sounds like “generic bad thing” will happen if too much venenum is generated by one person.

And we’re finally back to the beginning. I’m starting to understand why people were yelling at my laughable misunderstandings early in this series.

You see…it would be nice to know why this Jedi hand wave is enough to save Nephren.

Stop! Don’t you play Scarborough Fair again! This isn’t fair!

I’m a sucker for endings like this.

What can it mean?

Okay, I laughed at this a little harder than I should have. That baby totally got suffocated and lost consciousness. We’re all agreement, right?

Anyway, I guess this scene is suggesting that Chtholly was reborn in another life. It seems like a bit of a cheap consolation prize, but I don’t really feel strongly about it.

Final Score: 8/10 (Maybe 7.5)

4 thoughts on “Suka Suka Episode 12: One last thing”

  1. Yeah, I’m a sucker for these kind of Endings too… It made me decide to pick up the LN, as seeing it has a sequel with a certain green haired previously loli on it. The insert song(s) were quite exquisite in my opinion, I need to find it.

    I believe Chtholly would have continued “existing” like Elq, but forfeiting even that possibility she chose to sacrifice that and go save Will (though we don’t know his actual situation). Last part left me stunned. I was still feeling the ending and then that hit me. I was unsure if I had to laugh… and slightly worried the child (Chtholly reincarnation?) might die (I have no experience with suffocating children through breasts).

    My memory is hazy too, but I think we’re missing some technical information, or maybe it was lost during the many dates with lizards.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yeah, im not too sure if ill personally go for the LN. ive got a few friends who read it and are usually willing to give me spoilers. im looking forward to when the soundtrack for this series gets released. lot of great songs in it.

      that’s kinda what i figured, but i honestly would have seen that as more of a hell than disappearing to be honest. it’s weird because i have a bit of curiosity about how the world would go on without me, but i dont think id want to watch it forever if i couldnt do anything about my situation. and im not too sure what to make of the reincarnation business either.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, I say that, but it’s just in my PtR list, which simply mean I’ll probably read it in my life time. The cover of the sequel hit me in the feels for some reason though, it’s like “passing down, to the next generation, one’s legacy” thing, and I quite like it.

        Hoh, hell? It didn’s seem a place of suffering or repenting though, but perhaps it’s where the souls that reincarnate pass through? (In SukaSuka’s world setting, that is). I’m sure nothing would really change whether I’m alive or not, but that’s just my view (I believe it is realistic though), not to mention, I think I would love being an observer for eternity (included the pain of not being able to directly interfere).

        I suppose Will survived and will go on a Journey to search for reincarnated Chtholly or something? Who knows (well, LN readers probably do).

        Liked by 1 person

        1. sounds promising…

          i just feel like id rather reincarnate than sit around watching forever…even if i have no memories of my previous life. makes me feel like im actually doing something.

          apparently, not so much…based on what ive heard.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave your comments here

