Summer 2017 Previews

Click here to check this post out on my personal website.

Getting a little creative since my original source for the chart is dead. I cropped the movies and OVAs out of AniChart. As always, the summary is at the bottom.

  • 18if – Is this supposed to be a game adaptation? It seems a bit dangerous.
  • Action Heroine Cheer Fruits – I might watch this, but it’s going to depend on how much other stuff I watch. Nothing about it really stands out.
  • Ballroom e Youkoso – Sigh…there’s a lot of hype around this series, but I really don’t want to watch it.
  • Battle Girl High School – Wait, I don’t understand. Haven’t I watched this show before?
  • Centaur no Nayami – Sure, why not?
  • Clione no Akari – I’ve got nothing. Looks interesting enough from the premise, but I’m not sure.
  • Dive!! – Pass.
  • Fate/Apocrypha – Yeah, I guess I kinda have to watch this…
  • Gamers! – I like video games… (hopefully this isn’t too cringe)
  • Hajimete no Gal – Look, don’t judge me. I read the manga, okay?
  • Hina Logi – I’m glad I didn’t watch Luck & Logic. I can skip this!
  • Hitorijime My Hero – Side story of something I don’t know. Skipping it.
  • Isekai Shokudou – Nothing’s ever gone wrong in an isekai story, has it? I’m definitely not being baited by the mystery tag.
  • Isekai wa Smartphone to Tomo ni. – I only have to choose one isekai story, right?
  • Jigoku Shoujo Yoi no Togi – While I liked Jigoku Shoujo, I haven’t watched all of them. What does the description mean when it says six “reminiscence episodes”? Is that just a fancy name for recap?
  • Jikan no Shihaisha – Eh, why not? It can’t be worse than Taboo Tattoo, can it?
  • Kakegurui – This might actually be interesting. I generally like psychological stuff. Hopefully it doesn’t fall into the abyss of Netflix series.
  • Katsugeki Touken Ranbu – Pass.
  • Keppeki Danshi! Aoyama-kun – I’m just a bit curious about this one.
  • Knights & Magic – That apostrophe is going to be a problem. Still, it’s a mecha show, so I’m successfully baited.
  • Koi to Uso – I’m not sure if I’ll cover this one. I read the manga, but I stopped after a while. That doesn’t bode well.
  • Konbini Kareshi – Seems like standard fluff.
  • Made in Abyss – This seems like a good combination of genres. I’ve heard good things about this series, and it seems pretty interesting.
  • Marvel Future Avengers – What?
  • Nana Maru San Batsu – How much of a nerd am I if I say that “competitive quizzes” actually sound kinda fun?
  • New Game!! – Woot.
  • Owarimonogatari (Ge) – Well, I went through the trouble of catching up on previous arcs of Monogatari, so I might as well finish it up.
  • Princess Principal – Spy action sounds like fun. I’d be willing to check this one out.
  • Saiyuuki Reload Blast – Pass.
  • Senki Zesshou Symphogear AXZ – This still exists?
  • Shoukoku no Altair – Is this supposed to be a somewhat historical series set in an alternate world? It could be interesting.
  • Tenshi no 3P! – Looks dangerous.
  • The Reflection Wave One – Eh, I usually get pulled into the superpower shows…
  • Vatican Kiseki Chousakan – This show looks really tempting, but I might be able to control my biases.
  • Youkai Apartment no Yuuga na Nichijou – Maybe?
  • Youkoso Jitsuryoku Shijou Shugi no Kyoushitsu e – Do I have to?

Summary

General thoughts – This season looks like a lot of unknown territory, which is something I welcome. I was planning on carrying Re:Creators and Sakurada Reset over from the spring season, but now I’m not so sure I can pull it off. Also, I kinda skipped the shorts, but I want to say I’m really looking forward to Tsurezure Children. I liked the manga a lot.

Probably covered – Fate/Apocrypha, Kakegurui, Made in Abyss

Very likely to watch and might be covered – Isekai Shokudou, Isekai wa Smartphone to Tomo ni, Jikan no Shihaisha, Knights & Magic, Koi to Uso, Owarimonogatari Ge, Princess Principal, Shoukoku no Altair, The Reflection, Vatican Kiseki Chousakan

Might be watched, but probably won’t be covered – Centaur no Nayami, Gamers, Hajimete no Gal, Keppeki Danshi! Aoyama-kun, Konbini Kareshi, Nana Maru San Batsu, New Game, Youkai Apartment no Yuuga na Nichijou

Leave your comments here

