Seikaisuru Kado Episode 9: Control

Click here to check this post out on my personal website.

This episode felt like a mixed bag for me. It dropped a ton of new information that explains a lot of what the series is trying to push, but I’m not entirely convinced that I like this direction. I think last week’s episode brought up the legitimate concern of advancing humanity’s innovation too quickly, but it feels like that will get pushed to the side as two anisotropic beings fight it out. Basically, I see this as an over-simplification of the plot that directs us to only a few potential outcomes. I’m kinda hoping I’m wrong about that…we’ll have to see where this goes. I liked the reveal that Tsukai was another anisotropic being, though. I didn’t expect it to go this way, and her position from last week makes a bit more sense now.

Wasn’t there a scene from one of the last two episodes where the news crew was chatting with Setten from within Kado? I didn’t point it out back then because I saw no reason why they couldn’t transmit, but this seems to be a direct contradiction.

I’m not going to even pretend like I could interpret this.

We’re already on the fourth object? Maybe it’s the ending of last week’s episode that’s clouding my judgment, but this looks much more sinister than the others.

Are we preparing for war against Yaha-kui? It sounds like you’re trying to beat his defense system.

First, we give humans unlimited energy. Next, we give them the ability to live without sleep. Then, let’s wrap things up by giving them to control the physical properties of the universe. Seems reasonable.

I don’t understand what’s going on with this crazy rotation scene…

Wait, is this supposed to suggest that the only being appropriate for Shindo is an anisotropic being? Because there aren’t many options in that category…

I’m not sure I understand this analogy. A CPU is generally meant to transform data, so increasing the number of dimensions (and with it the number of bits) should have more of an effect on memory use. If you wanted to make the CPU comparison, I would compare it to cores.

Uhh, Yaha-kui…you’re looking a little crazy over there. Is he saying he wants humanity to be a fountain of information? Is that what he meant when he said that humans would never be able to produce more than they consume? The anisotropic might be absorbing all of their excess information.

Oh crap, this series is going for the “universe is a simulation” interpretation.

I have historically had an issue with this “humanity is the pinnacle of intelligence” idea, and this series is not helping with it. Still, the idea of a universe as being the result of some finite set of initial parameters is a concept I’ve thought over before…

We’re stepping into some sketchy territory here…

Yup, I guess he’s going to be evil…

Okay, I wasn’t expecting this.

6 thoughts on “Seikaisuru Kado Episode 9: Control”

  1. “Wait, is this supposed to suggest that the only being appropriate for Shindo is an anisotropic being? Because there aren’t many options in that category…”

    Wonderful how Tsukai is now completely eligible, right?

    As much as I liked the revelation, I hope this won’t transform into some good anisotropic VS evil anisotropic, as I really love this show for… it’s, uhh, not-combat-oriented approeach. I don’t think it will get at that point though, as it seems Tsukai’s abilities are somehow limited or one-use only.

    By the way, I’ve even understood less than usual. I think I’ll rewatch it later…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hmm…how convenient

      that’s kinda my worry too. i kinda feel like this revelation distills the dialogue down into so many stances. when the anisotropic’s intentions werent clear, you could kinda see it going either way. but i can understand that this is a series that needs to move forward…meh

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, there are still 3 episodes (unlike other series that are already at one to end), so I don’t think I should be overly worried about it turning into a simplistic fight, but it did narrow the “paths” it could take. I hope it will continue with its high quality and have a satisfying ending.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s amazing how that one smile last episode meant that while watching this episode everything took on a slightly sinister tone. If we hadn’t seen that look last week, this would have just been another show and tell until the whole wanting Shindo to disappear bit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave your comments here

