Science Behind Seikaisuru Kado’s Sansa

Click here to check this post out on my personal website.

Spoiler warning: I’m restricting this post to the functionality of the Sansa, so there really won’t be much discussion about plot points. The warning is here nonetheless.

Seikaisuru Kado has been one of my favorite shows in this season and a lot of it has to do with the sci-fi theme. My favorite feature of the sci-fi genre is the ability to explore the possibilities hidden in the natural world. Kado does this by introducing crazy extra-dimensional objects to solve some of humanity’s problems. I wanted to write about all of them, but I don’t know enough physics to comment on the Wam. The recently introduced Sansa, on the other hand, is a bit of an easier target.

As it’s introduced in the series, the Sansa is an anisotropic tool designed to give humans the ability to sense the anisotropic, which can be thought of as being similar to higher spatial dimensions. As a side effect, humans are able to make full use of their brains, which apparently extends into multiple dimensions.

When I first saw the Sansa, my reaction was that it was a reference to the old myth that humans only use 10% of their brains. If your physical brain is only a part of your true brain, then this idea totally makes sense. Plus, you can add in plenty of other unexplained mental phenomena. For example, you could say that the feeling of déjà vu is caused by rogue memories entering your brain from other dimensions. I think this is where the idea of the Sansa originated.

Now where did the idea of eliminating the need for sleep originate? I suspect it has something to do with the concept of unihemispheric slow-wave sleep. This is something we’ve observed in some species of birds and marine mammals. It’s believed that certain species of birds can enter a state of sleep and continue to react to their environment while flying. There’s still a lot of research to be done in this field, especially about the quality of this type of sleep, but it makes for a good sci-fi story.

I wanted to keep this post restricted to the inspirations for the Sansa because I don’t know how much I can speak to the validity of it (I’m not a sleep expert). I wanted to finish off with a particular question I had about the Sansa, though. The series doesn’t really make it clear if it’s just the human brain that is multi-dimensional. Are the other “selves” contained within your full brain attached to other physical bodies? It’s common for consciousness to be treated as being separate from your physical brain (it’s an idea that I don’t really like if I’m being honest). I wonder if the series is trying to suggest that human consciousness transcends the known universe into other dimensions. Otherwise, it would make more sense for there to be other bodies in these higher dimensions.

Anyway, I hope you found this all interesting. Let me know what you think!

27 thoughts on “Science Behind Seikaisuru Kado’s Sansa”

  1. Ahh, this was an interesting read. Hmm, I think that the other bodies/ consciousness In that series probably run parallel to the physical world and do not have a solid “existence” of their own. Or maybe it is a manner similar to cores in a CPU? .o.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. the CPU reference kinda leans towards the idea of a greater consciousness, since each core in a CPU doesnt have a full PC attached to it. i guess my main gripe with that is philosophical. i dont like splitting consciousness into its own entity without ties to the physical. as for the idea of running in parallel, that would kinda make us monsters for grasping the anisotropic since we’re monopolizing a shared mind across multiple bodies.

      Like

      1. Funny how I’m going to study physics just for that exact reason. No, not for Sansa alone, but for many other things, with Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei and Toaru Majutsu no Index being the ones that mostly influenced me to take that decision (Steins;Gate contributed greatly too).

        Liked by 1 person

          1. If only I had the money, the time, the resources and the freaking money, I would love to study many fields: biology, chemistry, neurology, psychology, engineering. I just love trying to understand how things work, especially natural phenomena, humans (especially their mind) and their artificial constructs. Too bad I’m not rich nor immortal.

            Liked by 1 person

              1. Oh? Perhaps. As, from what Kizumonogatari teaches, 80% of vampire’s death is suicide from boredom. I think that I would never bore myself in trying to understand things though, just like I will never be able to watch every existing anime because more are produced, I think the range of things I don’t understand will increase with the passage of time. Now, I just need to achieve immortality…

                Liked by 1 person

              2. Hoh, that’s true. I just began my holidays, and am already saying “heh, who I can make a post about it later” and then you will never actually see a post about it.

                That could be a problem indeed.

                Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice to see people thinking hard on it. Just shows that Anime is multipurpose: it saves you, it makes you use your brain, it saves your soul, it makes you wonder about humanity’s existence, it saves your life, it makes you realize how precious life is and so on (yes, I’ve intentionally repeated myself several times).

    That aside. I’m more incline to think that the “conciousness” (not brain) alone is multidimensional. Or that at least “other selves” aren’t involved, because that would cause… several other problems (I would declare war on my other self if my brain was used by a parallel me to be honest, unless he permits to use his brain capacity too, that is). Kuhh, I’m really curious about how it works. Even if fictional, I just love understanding the logic behind these things. I hope they will deepen the explanations.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. unfortunately, i dont see any more explanation of how that particular device works in the future. i think the inspirations of the sansa are pretty clear, so offering anything more would be stepping a little bit too far into unknown territory. that being said, ive always been a bit resistant to the idea of an expanded consciousness. the manifestation of our consciousness always seems too linked to the physical state of our brain, so i find it unlikely. i agree that calling it another “self” is problematic, because another self should have it’s own will and desires.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The only coherent theory I can come up with is that the Anisotropic is actually a dimension in which all kind of information are stored. So there exist also copies of our brain, but that aren’t used but merely “exist” as a copy. From this huge database we, terminals, can access and use the resources to amplify our brain power. Or something like that, it’s the first thing that came to mind because of Fate though.

        I too believe that consciousness is strictly related to our physical brain. Although I would like to wish for a soul-like thing to exist, unless it’s scientifically proved, I won’t believe it.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. id be more willing to believe that if i hadnt already watched the most recent episode.

          ive actually thought on the soul thing a lot (there’s an old post about it somewhere on this blog). in my opinion, a soul is only useful if we cant prove it exists. i dont particularly have a problem with anyone who wants for something like that to exist. i think it’s meant to act as an unimpeachable source of identity. i just dont buy it myself.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Fudge. I’ve just watched latest episode and so… it is just a higher dimension (not really “just”, but to simplify). And there goes the theory of Akasha records/Throne of Heroes… oh, well. Three episode and it will end, huh. I hope we get more explanation.

            Hm, soul… I’m no philosophe, but other than it being a, huh, unique ID for each of us, it would also be important to know where it goes after the decay of the human body. It would open questions about reincarnation, since if it existed, it would have mass, and if it has mass, then it is under the rule of “Mass and Energy conservation”, thus it won’t disappear, but transorm. But screw that, as we can’t really prove it now. On the matter of identity though, that’s far nearer, since clonation already exist, though it’s forbidden (at least in the country I live in). I don’t really know how it works though, so I’m merely speculating here.

            If we were to copy every single cell of a human being, would the “clone” wake up? Would it have a own “consciousness”? It’s own “soul”? If the experiment were to fail, it would mean that the “soul” or something akin to it, which can’t be simply copied at cellular level, exist. Otherwise, it could mean that it doesn’t exist, and humans are merely a mass of meat, or maybe that the “soul” does exist and can be copied. Either way, it would be very beneficial to the human race, as it would give more clues about that aspect and, more importantly, to have more “human resources”.

            But if it was possible to fully copy a person, two equal, totally the same in every single aspect, human beings would come into existence, wouldn’t that lower our worth? Heck, would the “original” or the “clone” even be able to accept not being “unique” in the Universe? Would he break down? Would he try to kill its “copy”? Or nothing would really happen? Would it depend on the individual?

            Damn, so many questions. I want to freakin’ study it now…wait, where is Kado in this wall of text?

            Liked by 1 person

            1. im no philosopher either, so i claim no expertise on this subject. my stance is just that giving a soul mass, making it a physical object, defeats its purpose. if the source of your identity interacts with the physical world and is therefore dynamic and mutable, then why cant the brain just be your source of identity?

              from a neurological standpoint, id say that the clone would develop its own identity after its creation. it make have the same set of experiences, but every experience that it has past that point of creation is distinct from the original.

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Hoh. I find myself agreeing with you: I don’t really have any logical comeback for that. All the data stored in the brain can serve as “soul” then.

                I probably am too intoxicated with 2D world: I just can’t accept such normal situation, it would be… boring. But reality is boring, so that’s probably it (though I think there would be many problems if the two selves were to meet immediately, I’m sure 100% that at least some would have identity crisis).

                Liked by 1 person

              2. ive spent a disproportionate amount of time thinking on the concept of a soul…

                oh, i have no doubt that people would have identity crises. it’s not something we’re used to thinking about. that’s what makes it fun.

                Liked by 1 person

              3. I can understand that, as I do that too instead of sleeping too… or when I forget my LNs/mobile and have nothing to do while waiting on the bus.

                Yeah, I think it depends on the person, as trying to kill each others immediately may be a little too much, welp, I was simply too influenced by S-ssssspoiler. It may be spoiler so I won’t say its title. I really like its concept of “soul” though (but… it’s useless to talk about it as I’m not mentioning the source…).

                Liked by 1 person

Leave your comments here

