Zero kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho Episode 5: Witches have too many enemies

Click here to check this post out on my personal website.

Maybe it was just me, but I was surprised that this episode didn’t really feel like much. This should be the point where the story ramps up, but a lot of the scenes felt wasted and the dialogue was a bit confusing at times (I’ll be more specific below). Also, Zero and Thirteen are supposed to be legendary-tier witches and their battle was just the two of them yelling at each other and crossing streams. Still, it’s nice to finally learn more about the world and feel like the series is actually going somewhere, so I can’t completely discredit this episode.

Now that I think about it, this is really the first time magic in this world has been explained since Zero talked about the difference between magic and sorcery.

Given Mercenary’s heavy prejudice against witches, I’m surprised that this is the first we’re hearing about rogue witches.

Wait, I’m lost. Did the looters steal the magic from the rogue witches by taking the jewels on their collars? Is that what Zero was referring to earlier? Or did the man walking through town do it? It looked like he was disintegrating them, so it doesn’t seem the same.

I actually don’t mind the necklace from that little girl coming into play here. It’s a nice touch. Plus, the dog has been pretty cool so far, so I like giving it a good ending.

Oh, I forgot that they’re looking for that. I guess I just didn’t expect it to be here anyway.

Albus just became their leader? That was…random.

I mean…I probably could have guessed that from the fact that the rogue witches didn’t get disintegrated. The problem is that the episode hasn’t really done anything so far to convince me that the Sorcerors of Zero weren’t the ones that killed the rogue witches. It would have been as simple as saying “the Sorcerors of Zero would never take away a witch’s magic” and I would have been fine with it.

Nice entrance, buddy.

Maybe I’m just being picky, but this scene didn’t really feel like a flashback for a while.

So wait…does this guy just overly worship Zero? I can’t tell whether he hates her or respects her.

Uhh…where have I seen this before?

Throw something at them?

11 thoughts on “Zero kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho Episode 5: Witches have too many enemies”

  1. I have to agree with you, this episode really wasn’t mich of anything. The trio’s walk into the village and seeing all of those corpses of villagers and witches alike should have been a scene with a lot of tension and suspense, but we got none of that. It just felt very bland and leisurely like the rest of the show so far which made is rather uninteresting to watch.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s true. Especially Thirteen’s introduction. I didn’t really like the way that played out. The flashback, his relationship with Zero and his betrayal could have all been handled better than just stand around talking.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Exactly. It just didn’t mesh very well at all. It’s clear he’s got something against Zero but this really didn’t help showcase that. He just came across as an envious piece of sh*t if I’m honest. And that’s the worst first impression of an antagonist you can get.

            Liked by 1 person

              1. True… they do seem like they were comrades or something with the way their conversation went but it looks like things have changed now. But what exactly their relationship was before and what the status of it is now is not very clear cut. I’m hoping they do smooth this out otherwise it’s going to be pretty confusing.

                Liked by 1 person

  2. I was overly tired and quite annoyed when I sat down to watch the episode and really just felt it was blah, but figured I should try watching it again when I was in a better mood. After reading this, I think I’ll skip watching it again. Clearly I didn’t miss any plot points and despite the amount of information that came out in the episode it still felt kind of pointless.
    While the magic fight is not creative, it at least brings magic back into the show when it has been pretty lowkey about this aspect for awhile.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. with how much i repeated scenes, i probably watched the entire episode multiple times and i still didnt get a good sense of it…

      honestly, i thought the explanations at the beginning of the episode did a better job of bringing magic back in the show…even if they were a bit dry. i have no idea what spells those two were using at the end or how they relate to thirteen’s ability to disintegrate mages.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave your comments here

