Seikaisuru Kado Episode 4: Bring on the nukes

Click here to check this post out on my personal website.

This is a pretty fun series to watch. The science bits still go over my head, but it still feels like there’s a lot to think about. I do like that the lighter moments are interspersed along with the heavy decisions being made in the conferences, like seeing the second negotiator in the car or Shindo reuniting with his friend. I mean, these are people, right? I’m definitely curious to see what Yaha-kui’s plans are because I feel like the UN response isn’t completely unreasonable.

Oh hey, so Yaha-kui is actually releasing the passengers as they finish processing. That makes a lot more sense now.

It’s a fair question. I’ve actually been wondering that myself, but it makes this guy seem too trusting when he says it like this.

Haha okay I laughed at this bro hug way more than I thought I would. Given how serious and cynical Asano has been, it’s a bit surprising to see this, but I guess it makes sense that he would have this kind of relationship with Shindo given how worried he’s been.

Ooh…looks serious.

The majority popular opinion is neutral? I find that hard to believe.

Wasn’t there that whole thing about asking Yaha-kui why he came to Japan? I’m sure Shindo’s judgment here is based on the fact that Kado had to have come to Japan for a reason.

Okay, this conversation has changed my opinion a bit. I’m starting to wonder whether this entire thing with the Wam is just a test from Yaha-kui. It seems weird to open with an offer of unlimited energy, so maybe he wants humanity to acknowledge that it’s not ready to utilize it properly. So far, I still think Yaha-kui is straightforward and genuinely wants to spread the Wam, but this is a new nagging thought.

If I remember correctly, most forms of energy consumption will inefficiently convert energy and give off the rest as heat. So is the idea of this statement that our devices will potentially be generating more heat because we have the energy to keep them running at near-constant intervals? Never really thought of it that way.

I’ve been curious about what they were planning to do about entertainment as well, but I have a more important question in this scene. What the heck is Yaha-kui doing to that croissant?

Wasn’t he the bumbling sidekick? Now I’m assuming that Shindo’s going to give a line like “you’re definitely ready for this job”.

This feels like one of those things that doesn’t really need to be said, but still has meaning when it does.

Come again? Curse you for using purposely misleading language. You’re better than this, Yaha-kui!

That bit about requiring the resolve of Japan as a whole is interesting too. Please tell me it’s a referendum. I need this!

This can only end well.

2 thoughts on “Seikaisuru Kado Episode 4: Bring on the nukes”

  1. I wondered about his ambiguous statement at the end about a bomb given how much he has focussed on clear communication prior to this. It seems odd he would suddenly use analogies or metaphors rather than being literal so I kind of wondered if he was planning on actually blowing something up but then realised that didn’t make any sense either. Really enjoying this show but I find myself thinking about every line of dialogue to see if there is something I missed or if it really is something to be taken at face value.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave your comments here

