Sakurada Reset Episode 3: The cat is both dead and alive

Click here to check this post out on my personal website.

Eh, I thought this episode was okay. In fact, I’m wondering how much better my opinion of the series would have been if the first two episodes hadn’t happened. Compared to the last two episodes, this episode felt less like it was being bogged down by the dialogue. Sure, there are still a lot of questions to be answered, but I don’t think I have as many complaints.

Misora’s role in conversation is something confuses me as well. I mean, I was generally bothered by Kei’s responses to Sumire’s weird questions in the previous episodes, she served the purpose of forcing Kei to explain himself much of the time. Misora on the other hand seems like pure fluff in conversations…as if she’s put there just as a distraction.

You mean like a prism? Or I guess the internet if you really want to see the bow.

What? Is this supposed to be a play on the overused request of rescuing a cat stuck in a tree? Excellent use of time travel superpowers.

So you’re telling me that the girl was able to get rushed special permission to save a cat? Is this supposed to be telling me that the girl is impossibly important or that there’s some funny business going on in the organization?

A cat expert? I’m guessing the idea is they’re going to try and find the lost cat before it’s supposed to die, but I’m not sure why they have to do that if they know the accident location. Although now that I’m saying it, Misora’s reset power gives them only one shot at saving the cat, so that’s probably to give them as large a window as possible to complete the request. Eh…I’m fine with that.

As for the random comment at the end of the call, my understanding of a MacGuffin device is that it’s an object or “thing” that exists in a story only to advance the plot, often some mystical object that the heroes must protect from evil or something. So…that means the cat is a distraction?

Alright, this is my shot in the dark with the information I have so far. Given that Nono is unfamiliar with the cat that Kei describes and she’s supposed to be an expert, I’m going to assume that the cat doesn’t exist or at the very least is supposed to be some form of misinformation. It explains the MacGuffin reference and would give a reason why the requester was eavesdropping on the conversation with Nono.

Nothing?

You were just saying earlier that the approval for this request was suspiciously quick, so it’s weird that this isn’t more important.

Something about how indirect this conversation is bothers me…

Nono asks Kei to tell her something to make her sleepy and he forces her to answer questions? That seems…counter-productive.

This explains a lot, Kei.

That’s a new one. It seems she was able to specify a body part and reduce gravity’s influence on it. But what all can she specify in the second bucket?

Ghost girl!

2 thoughts on “Sakurada Reset Episode 3: The cat is both dead and alive”

  1. I actually found myself wondering why this wasn’t the first episode. Admittedly, we did need some of the prior information, but this seemed like a far better lead in to the world (and they could always flash back later if they needed to). Particularly with the 2 year time skip between episdoe 2 and 3, it really feels like this was the start of the story.
    I have so many questions about this show and the people in it and I’m kind of hoping we’re going to start getting closer to answers now. This is definitely making me think even if the show itself isn’t great.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave your comments here

