Rokudenashi Majutsu Koushi to Akashic Records Episode 3: Mana problems

Click here to check this post out on my personal website.

I have mixed feelings about this episode. I still think the world of this series is really interesting and I like the approach to magic. But taking a step back, the final fight in this episode involved the big bad standing and watching while Glenn defused his bomb. Also, Glenn wins most of the fights in the episode by taking magical energy from the two main girls in the episode. It makes me worry whether this is going to be a recurring thing. Is Glenn the guy who knows what needs to be done and just siphons energy from others to do it all?

That being said, I really liked the interactions between Glenn and Sistine. I thought they fought well together and injected a nice dose of lightheartedness into their fights as well.

That’s one way to start it…

I know it fits his character, but it’s at least a little bit reassuring that Glenn is flustered enough to make this mistake. He’s clearly trained, but he’s not some unflappable badass.

Haha this scene’s pretty funny.

I think this is the part of this show that bothers me the most. It’s really frustrating how accurately these mages seem to be able to estimate their own power and the power of opposing spells, especially given that we as the audience have no idea how they do it. Also, what exactly does mana deficiency mean in this world? Because Glenn continues to use spells after casting his big Extinction Ray.

Are they fighting or having a conversation? Anyway, for how strong this guy seems to think he is, he’s pretty much treated like another nameless henchman.

I honestly think this tells Glenn’s backstory enough, wanting to be a hero and discovering that he was just a killer. It explains why he’s critical of using magic for fighting and why he knows so much. I think I’d be happy if they just left it at that.

Nice entrance. Seriously.

Uhh…isn’t he planning on blowing up the school? All of the students are stuck in a barrier right now, meaning that they will definitely die if Glenn runs away by himself.

Of course it was…

What the heck? Yeah, it’s amazing what you can do in anime on sheer force of will…I’m sure we’ll get no explanation for this one. Because she’s royalty? That’s what I’ll tell myself.

Haha these are great.

2 thoughts on “Rokudenashi Majutsu Koushi to Akashic Records Episode 3: Mana problems”

  1. I’m not sure the bad guy’s plan of stand in his own spell unable to move was a good one and it made for a pretty dull final confrontation in the episode, though I didn’t mind the rest of it. They are definitely going to have to explain how power levels are measured or that is going to become a really big plot issue sooner rather than later.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave your comments here

