Sakurada Reset First Impressions (1): That was deep?

Click here to check this post out on my personal website.

I admit I was interested in watching this series because it had a time travel aspect to it. That being said, I’m not sure I was really into this first episode. I think it’s still too early to judge, but the series gives the impression that it’s trying to be a “thinking” anime, but takes it to the point where you can notice as the audience that they’re trying to do this. The entire episode was just dense dialogue that didn’t feel like it had to be there. Maybe it will make sense when the series presents its point? I don’t really know yet.

This is probably meant to casually introduce our main heroine, but this description isn’t exactly specific.

Again, this is probably meant to mirror the speech pattern of his friend’s description of Misora Haruki, but who the heck talks like this?

Hard to say how I feel about this yet. It kinda depends on what triggered the reset…because it looks like it was triggered by a crying child. Also, I get the sense that Misora and Kei don’t really know each other, but the events of the episode seem to be giving me mixed messages.

Okay, same thing I said with Little Witch Academia. In what universe are powers that defy the laws of physics useless?

Ahh crap. I don’t even know how to approach this one. I still don’t know if this “reset” is actually any different than rewinding time, but I’m pretty sure this is explicitly stated just so Kei’s power is allowed to work. The argument is that she doesn’t undo events, which is why Kei is allowed to remember them (since they still technically happened). But I would make this argument: if an action (or “cause”?) doesn’t have an effect on the world, did it actually happen? But I’ll leave this to people who know more physics than I do.

And with this explanation of Misora’s powers, I will concede that this power is actually useless unless Kei exists (or there are other loopholes to the ability that haven’t been explained). But I think the more important question is this: if Misora has no memory of events that occur after a reset, how does she know she has the power at all? There should be no hints of its existence.

Okay, this isn’t bad. Misora hits on a good point, the fact that she can only benefit from this relationship with Kei if she can trust him…and she doesn’t have a reason to do so yet.

Double entendre?

I’m not sure if this statement is supposed to be addressing the “there is no true altruism” idea, but I disagree with it at face value. It might also be attempting to make a statement about agency…something to the effect of “you can’t commit evil if you’re following someone else”. But I disagree with this idea too because I would argue that “not committing evil” is not equivalent to “doing good”. If you have no agency, you’re also not responsible for good acts.

Come again?

Uhh, so I’m getting that Misora found everything sad (and therefore meaningless?) and so decided to create a set of rules with which she makes her decisions? So she’s an automaton?

Given Mari’s insistence that she’s a fake, I’m not sure how jarring this is supposed to be.

This, on the other hand…what the crap happened here?

2 thoughts on “Sakurada Reset First Impressions (1): That was deep?”

Leave your comments here

