Summer 2016 Season Previews

Summer 2016 Anime Chart v2

Like last season, I’ll probably do some follow-up posts focusing on specific series, but for now…let’s do the obligatory run through all of the series in the coming season. I know how excited you all are, but if you’re too excited to read through everything, the summary is further down as always.

  • Fukigen na Mononokean – I mean…sure, if it’s a short.
  • Berserk – I get to use the excuse that I didn’t see the original series, right? I’ll just pass on this one…
  • Love Live Sunshine – Me? Watch this? I have no idea what you’re talking about!
  • Hatsukoi Monster – I’m not sure on this one. I might judge from the first episode.
  • B-Project: Kodou Ambitious – This seems sketchy. Can I just listen to the soundtrack when it’s done?
  • Tales of Zestiria the X – So, an anime adaptation of pretty much the only Tales game that I started and was unable to finish? Sign me up! I mean…everyone loves the Tales of the Abyss adaptation, right? Right?? (sigh…I feel like I’m obligated to watch this one)
  • Saiki Kusou no … Nan – Not even gonna attempt that character (I think it’s “psi”). This series looks quirky enough to watch, but I’ll pass on blogging about comedy.
  • Puzzles & Dragons Cross – Hahahahahahahaha no.
  • Show by Rock Short – Normally I would watch shorts, but I never saw the original series, so probably not.
  • Taboo Tattoo – Ehh…why not? Let’s try this one. I’m totally not being baited in by the mystery tag.
  • Fudanshi Koukou Seikatsu – I have enough trouble watching series about fujoshi…why would a fudanshi be any better?
  • Prism Illya 3 – Nooooooope.
  • Kono Bijutsubu ni wa Mondai ga Aru – Seems generic enough to ignore.
  • Planetarian – Post-apocalypse world? Sounds fun…I can’t remember if this is one of the VNs people love or hate. Is this a trap?
  • Amanchu – meh…
  • 91 Days – More historical series? Well, I watched Joker Game, so I feel like I have to at least try this one.
  • Arslan Senki S2 – Oh yeah, I was gonna watch the first season of this series. Well, if I finish it in time, I might watch this second season, but it’s not looking likely.
  • Battery – Not sure about this one. I’ve never watched a baseball anime and I’m not a huge fan of the sport.
  • Time Travel Shoujo – …maybe…
  • Active Raid S2 – Nope.
  • Handa-kun – Probably going to be watching this one, but I doubt I’d cover it. I’ve been reading the Barakamon manga, which has been interesting, so this should be fun. I feel like high school days wouldn’t be as interesting, but I don’t mind trying it out to see if I’m proven wrong.
  • Shokugeki no Souma S2 – Yes!
  • ReLIFE – More yes!
  • D.Gray-man Hallow – This series feels like it happened so long ago that I forgot it…
  • Ozmafia – …what? Can I not?
  • Onara Gorou – No…just no. I already know what the comments on this show are going to be and I refuse to be part of it.
  • Servamp – Shoujo…vampires…uhhh
  • Qualidea Code – Seems dangerous, but I might try out the first episode.
  • Amaama to Inazuma – Not too sure about this one. Doesn’t look immediately interesting.
  • Nejimaki Seirei Senki – From first glance, it’s a pass, but I might try it out.
  • Regalia: The Three Sacred Stars – Can I skip on the mecha this season?
  • Ange Vierge – Card game adaptation? Naaahhhh…
  • Mob Psycho 100 – I’m cool with trying this one out. I doubt I’ll be able to cover it since I wasn’t able to cover One Punch Man, but watching should be fine…
  • Cheer Danshi – Nope.
  • New Game – I’ve read the manga for this series, so I’ll probably watch it.
  • Rewrite – It seems like I need VN knowledge to appreciate this one, so I’ll just be off on the side not watching…
  • Masou Gakuen HxH – Hahahahahahahahaha no.
  • Dangan Ronpa 3 – You know, I don’t really know about this one. On the one hand, half of the series is devotes to the characters from the first Dangan Ronpa, which I watched. But the second half is on Dangan Ronpa 2, which is a game that I didn’t play. So…maybe?
  • Orange – Meh…I’m curious.

Summary

General thoughts – A decent number of manga adaptations that I recognize this season, which makes things fun. I feel like there are a lot more “safe” series this season…where I know enough going in that I feel comfortable watching them. Sigh…I guess I need to take some risks and choose some unknowns, do I?

Probably covered – ReLIFE

Very likely to watch and might be covered – Tales of Zestiria the X, Taboo Tattoo, Planetarian, 91 Days, Orange

Might be watched, but probably won’t be covered – Time Travel Shoujo, Handa-kun, Shokugeki no Souma S2, Mob Psycho 100, New Game

Credits
Chart created by Zana at neregate.com
The following websites were used as sources of information to create the chart :
Anime News Network
Moon Phase
Moetron
My Anime List

10 thoughts on “Summer 2016 Season Previews”

  1. Planetarian is saaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaafe. A lot of feels though. And as for Rewrite, we’ll be there in chat spamming about how bad it is. Don’t worry. 😉

    But you’re only definitely covering one show this season? *looks forward to more music-of-the-week filler posts*

    I’m starting to regret putting Servamp in my cover list… T_T And you forgot about… Masou Gakuen HxH!!

    orange looks like an interesting watch. I’ve read a bit of the manga, and it’s not bad so far.

    Like

    1. well…guess that means i should just skip them, right?

      having fewer posts is better!

      …did i?

      well, the manga is suggested a lot…soooooo

      Like

  2. Can’t believe I missed this. Was looking forward to your post on it. D: #blameboris

    Yeah, Planetarian is meant to be one of the better ones. Though it was supposed to be shorter too so how they’ll stretch an anime out of it idk.

    It is psi! Quantum mechanics ftw!

    A zombie anime has been added to the line up since (Hitori no Shita The Outcast, I think it was called). You clearly loved Kabaneri and HOTD, so will you be covering this too? 😀

    Like

    1. D: boris whyyyy??

      so…you’re saying it’s dangerous?

      well, i dunno what my excuse is…nerd?

      yeah, i saw that one…can i just not this time?

      Like

Leave your comments here

