Boku Dake ga Inai Machi First Impressions (1): That escalated quickly

[HorribleSubs] Boku Dake ga Inai Machi - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_07.32_[2016.01.07_20.47.14]

Wow…I’m so glad I decided to wait on watching this show before reading the manga. I think going into this episode blind has made it incredibly enjoyable, watching how the episode builds. The main character, Satoru, also just feels very interesting. Although, I do have to admit that I found it strange that he doesn’t remember the tragedy from his past so well despite the fact that it seems to have shaped his present personality so much. So…major mystery of the series. Should we start making a list of potential culprits? Unfortunately, I didn’t see any great candidates in this first episode. That one guy at the pizza place gave Satoru a weird look as he leaves at the end, but he obviously has an alibi.

Also, the song playing at the end is actually a really old song, Re:Re by Asian Kung-Fu Generation. It’s actually from one of the first jpop albums I ever listened to regularly, so it brought back a lot of fond memories hearing it again like this. Is that the ending song for this series? Or is it just baiting us in to be replaced by another song? If so, I hope it’s another Asian Kung-Fu Generation song. It’s such an amazing choice for a show like this. The main character travels back to the past as the final twist and we’re brought back with him with this song from like eleven years ago. Anyway, this series has definitely got me interested, and I look forward to seeing more episodes of it this season. As a final thing, I just want to say that I’m so curious as to why the mother seemed to know so much about who the killer might be.

7 thoughts on “Boku Dake ga Inai Machi First Impressions (1): That escalated quickly”

  1. Huh, that’s a really cool detail with the song at the end.

    I wasn’t expecting it to be this good. How the MC acts next week when seeing his mother and the female lead and maybe even the framed guy should be fun.

    Like

    1. the song’s an old favorite, so I recognized it immediately 😀

      you think we’ll be seeing the culprit too? the way I see it, there are two ways this could go…either he finds the culprit, but can’t get anyone to believe his child self or he spends the entire series searching for something he has technically already seen before

      Like

Leave your comments here

