Marth’s Manga Adventures: Liar Game

ss+(2016-01-05+at+06.31.57)

If we’re going to talk about manga, let’s start with an easy one. Liar Game is easily one of my favorite completed series (despite the somewhat disappointing ending). If you’re not familiar with the series, the premise is pretty simple. The main character, Kanzaki Nao is a naive, gullible girl who is tricked into joining a game called the Liar Game, where she must use deception and manipulation to beat other people with millions of dollars on the line. Because of her insane weaknesses in this game, she enlists the help of Akiyama Shinichi, a recently incarcerated con man who swindled a company out of business.

The series itself is a fun dive into the psychology of people as you watch everyone’s schemes come together. While the pages can be pretty dense to read at times with their explanations of “how they did it”, I found it really interesting. I also thought the games that the Liar Game (yes, there is more than just one game) were cool because many of them were introduced as games of chance that were altered slightly to contain a strategic element. This series is much more on the psychological end of the stuff I read, but if my descriptions have sounded interesting, you should definitely give it a read.

(Unrelated note) Anyone have any suggestions on what I should use as pictures for these posts? Or if there even need to be pictures at all? Using pages from the actual manga doesn’t seem like a great idea, but the covers aren’t really that fun either…

2 thoughts on “Marth’s Manga Adventures: Liar Game”

  1. Oh, I was going to start that one and then never did… sounds like the sort of thing I’m really in the mood for right now, so I’ll give it a read. 😀

    If I was going to put pictures in, I’d either go for covers or fanart, unless I was wanting to showcase the artstyle of the manga in which case I’d find a relatively spoiler free part to post as an example.

    Looking forward to more manga posts. 😀

    Like

    1. it’s a lot of fun and sunshine…no suffering at all! *shifts gaze*

      I think fanart for manga tends to be harder to find unless it’s a really popular series or it’s adapted into anime…posting a spoiler-free page from the manga feels the best, but it just requires so much effort on my part…

      Like

Leave your comments here

