Sore ga Seiyuu, Himouto Umaru-chan, and Short Anime First Impressions: Some of the rest of what I watched

[HorribleSubs] Sore ga Seiyuu! - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_04.50_[2015.07.07_20.23.58]

Sore ga Seiyuu

Let’s start with this one. Basically, the show follows Futaba Ichinose as she tries to break into the world of voice acting as a newbie, providing insight to the audience along the way. Since I haven’t watched Shirobako (please don’t crucify me), I’d say I found this first episode to give some interesting insight into the animation world. Given the type of person I am, the inner workings of it all tend to interest me. Plus, the main character had some good moments at the start of the episode (watching her in the studio was somewhat painful, though).

That being said, I feel like it’s hard to really post about the show without having some experience or knowledge of the industry, so I’ll just watch it on the sidelines. Music-wise, there’s nothing really special going on. The ending theme has potential to be entertaining if they rotate song cameos, but it’s definitely not something I’d listen to regularly.

[HorribleSubs] Himouto! Umaru-chan - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_14.00_[2015.07.08_21.24.41]

Himouto! Umaru-chan

This series was a manga that I picked up a while back (I’m not actually sure why). I found this first episode somewhat surprising…I’ve been reading the manga for a while now, but I just couldn’t stand how annoying Umaru’s character seemed in this first episode. Was she always this obnoxious or is it just the medium?

Million Doll

I mostly watch short series because they’re very small time commitments, so I ended up checking out the first episode of this series. General impressions: I’m really not sure I get what’s going on in this show. It feels like the two main characters are annoyed at each other for reasons that don’t really make much c

Wakaba Girl –  This one basically gets a footnote…if you want your weekly dose of cute girls doing cute things, this is probably your show.

2 thoughts on “Sore ga Seiyuu, Himouto Umaru-chan, and Short Anime First Impressions: Some of the rest of what I watched”

  1. I started Shirobako, but I didn’t have the time to continue with it. The same will probably happen with Sore ga Seiyuu. Though I guess I was quite disappointed with Shirobako because I was expecting it to take a depressing turn midway through the first episode… it had a bit of that sort of feel to me, but then never capitalised on it. This was clear it was just a comedy.

    The others, I’ll maybe keep watching too, but that depends on my mood. Himouto Umaru-chan felt like it would have worked better as a short to me. As a full episode, it dragged on a bit. Also, I think Umaru would be bearable in small doses, but with this much screen time in one go, she does start to get annoying. I haven’t read the manga though, so I don’t really have anything to compare it to.

    Like

    1. I went into Shirobako knowing it was two-cour. Made the depressing story very unlikely.

      Given that the manga was a 4-koma, I’m actually pretty surprised that Umaru didn’t end up being a short. But yeah…not a huge fan.

      Like

Leave your comments here

