Charlotte First Impressions (1): Worst cheater ever

[HorribleSubs] Charlotte - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_00.23_[2015.07.05_08.10.49]

While it’s normal for Key works to have some form of supernatural mixed in, this show seems to want to embraces it by focusing on a school of students with special powers (this inspires more confidence than Little Busters). The main character, Yuu Otosaka, has the ability to possess another person within his line of sight for five seconds at a time, an ability he uses mostly to cheat and manipulate others.

That being said, they could have at least made him a little bit realistic. I’ve seen people compare Yuu to Lelouch online, but that seems like an insult given how awful of a cheater he is. A normal cheater can’t possibly get a higher grade than the person they’re copying, so there’s no way he could make perfect scores. He’d have to be really lucky in that he would possess people in time to see only the questions they got right.

[HorribleSubs] Charlotte - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_13.36_[2015.07.05_08.24.36]

Of all the powers introduced in the first episode, (while they have their uses) none are the type of power that I personally would want to have. I do like the idea of introducing a flaw with each person’s power. I like that sort of restriction. My general assessment of the show: I think I’ll keep watching because I’m a bit curious about the premise, but I’ll let the next episode be the deciding factor on whether I keep posting about it.

Leave your comments here

