Hibike Euphonium Final Episode (13): Finally the concert

[HorribleSubs] Hibike! Euphonium - 13 [720p].mkv_snapshot_12.39_[2015.07.01_06.25.57]

Well, this series ends by finally showing off what everyone’s been practicing up to now. I was actually somewhat surprised that the concert ended with our main characters taking the gold, but I guess the idea was to wrap everything up neatly. Band geek moment: I just want to say here that I’m not actually a huge fan of the piece that Kitauji played (Crescent Moon Dance). It’s a bit bombastic for my taste. I actually would have much preferred the piece that was played by the school before Kitauji (which was Scheherazade).

As for judging the series as a whole, I’d say that it was interesting as a former band player to see this representation of what happens. Naturally, my experience was fairly similar (drama always happens), but sometimes different (shouldn’t there have been rehearsals or something?), so it was cool to see what others go through. I’m curious, though, how this show feels from the perspective of someone who has no idea what a concert band does. Anything particularly eye-opening or such? Also, I don’t particularly care for a second season…I think this episode actually works as a decent resolution.

2 thoughts on “Hibike Euphonium Final Episode (13): Finally the concert”

  1. As someone who is so musically inept that I couldn’t tell how Reina’s solo was better than Kaori’s, this was definitely an eye opener on how concert band works in general. It was especially nice to see how a concert band is more like the sum of its different sections rather than one big music box. I know it sounds obvious, in retrospective, but it’s something I’ve honestly never considered. I was also surprised by how… segregated each section seemed from each other. I don’t know why I was expecting for it to be necessary to have the rest of the band playing for them to be able to practice properly.

    Like

    1. Both solos weren’t bad. But if you consider the style of song they were playing, Reina’s solo made more sense because it’s more forceful.

      It’s one of the things that they drill into you when you’re in band. Each section has a role and you need to learn it.

      Like

Leave your comments here

