Updates

UX8k6OB

So for this week’s post, I’m going to start off with a bit of a side note. Yesterday, I got an email through the blog with a request to fill out the “Anime Research Survey for 2015” (linked here for reference). First off, I just want to say that I find it impressive that they were able to find a blog as unpopular and obscure as mine. But that fact brings me to my concern…if they found me, just how many other bloggers are they surveying? If you look at last year’s results, the online anime fans ended up representing about as many results as every other category combined. This is especially worrisome because online anime fans, at least to me, consists of a much more diverse set of people (potentially). If you want to see more why this may be a problem, look up Simpson’s Paradox and the Berkeley Gender Bias Case.

YL61M9j

But back to anime things, I don’t have too much to say for this week. On the Ore Monogatari front, I liked how Suna’s story turned out, but I’m worried that he will now fall into obscurity in order to add more characters to the group. And on the Hibike Euphonium side, I’m guess this show will start focusing on drama with regards to audition results, which is just annoying. Having gone through band myself, I can say that I almost never saw this type of drama (and I, as a person, tend to attract drama, so that’s saying something). However, the case in my school was a bit different because we had a regular band and a competitive band. People who didn’t care as much for the competitive aspect could stay in the regular band and just “have fun”.

3 thoughts on “Updates”

  1. The funny thing is that I got the message about the survey too a couple weeks ago, but of course, I think the results is probably like that because of the small sample size too on the other categories and that they don’t really break down everything. Online can be anything (forums, social network, blogs, etc), and I would like to see them break it down further. Not sure I’m going to do it again, but we’ll see and hopefully the results will be a bit more interesting this time.

    Like

Leave your comments here

