Kekkai Sensen Episode 3: Epic chess time

[HorribleSubs] Kekkai Sensen - 03 [720p].mkv_snapshot_19.46_[2015.05.01_06.47.43]

I’m going to spend some time catching up for this show. For an episode with as little action as this week’s episode, I would have hoped for at least a little more mental battling or something of that sort. The episode focused on a chess-like game where the pieces and the board evolve. The main “antagonist” for this week’s episode plays a game against people, giving them their wish if they win or hit some time limit and taking their lives if they lose. Klaus is strangely introduced as someone with the stamina to stall the game out long enough to survive these games. As a side note, was there any particular reason that Beethoven was playing in the background for this game? To emphasize how classy it was supposed to be?

[HorribleSubs] Kekkai Sensen - 03 [720p].mkv_snapshot_06.11_[2015.05.01_06.34.00]

I understand this game is not chess, but I’m not sure I can imagine stalling a game out for 8-9 hours (much less 99) especially given the pace at which they were moving the pieces. In a normal game of chess, you would probably want to reduce the game down to much fewer pieces and just run your king around forever. But this game seemed to add extra pieces as it went along, so I can’t imagine how it could be stalled similarly. Anyway, from the preview, next week is vampires?

2 thoughts on “Kekkai Sensen Episode 3: Epic chess time”

  1. This show is a strange one. Not sure if I absolutely love it or just think it’s ok so far.

    That game looked pretty interesting though. It makes me want to try it, and also makes me a bit sad that it probably won’t get popular enough that they’ll attempt to develop the game as merchandise.

    Like

    1. I’m of the opinion that it’s in the “okay” category for now. I’m still not convinced.

      Nah…I don’t really have any urge to try it. I’ve always preferred the simplicity of chess.

      Like

Leave your comments here

