First Impressions Combo: Denpa Kyoushi and Re-Kan!

[HorribleSubs] Denpa Kyoushi - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_17.41_[2015.04.10_07.13.47]

Both of these shows aren’t going to be covered on this blog any more, so I figured I would put them together in a single post. Plus, they’re both comedy series, so there isn’t much to say in the first place. First off, Denpa Kyoushi follows a lazy genius who is forced to become a school teacher by his sister. I read a pretty decent bit of the manga before I eventually got bored. The main character, Kagami Junichirou, is entertaining to watch at first, but I dunno…I just lost motivation after a while. I’d say I got my initial interest because I thought the “YD” thing was a pretty funny gag.

Music-wise, I’d say this show is very weak. I didn’t really like the opening or ending songs at all. Anyway, given that I’ve read the manga, I’ll just say that I find this first “arc” really weird. I’m not sure if people will disagree with me, but it feels like this first “arc” doesn’t need to exist…it’s almost like it gets tossed away. Anyway, that’s all I really have to say about this show.

[HorribleSubs] Re-Kan! - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_08.35_[2015.04.10_06.34.36]

I have much less to say about Re-Kan…I thought that maybe a story about ghosts could be interesting, but everything about the show just seemed super frivolous to me. For example, the middle section of the episode runs through a bunch of quick interactions between the main character Amami Hibiki and the various ghosts around her…it just seemed random and rushed, like it was originally 5 pages of a 4-koma or something. Also, why does that cat even exist as a character? He literally contributes nothing to the show. In summary, I’d just say this episode was just really hard to watch.

Leave your comments here

