Dungeon ni Deai no Motomeru no wa Machigatteiru Darou ka First Impressions (1): Long names are all the rage, right?

[HorribleSubs] DanMachi - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_06.22_[2015.04.04_07.53.09]

Like I said in the preview post, I was proofreader for the manga form of this show, so I have little choice but to check out the anime. It’s a pretty simple premise, set in a world that is pretty much modeled off of an MMORPG (as opposed to an actual MMORPG like many of the “trapped in game” series). Bell Cranel, the main character, is a newbie adventurer with pretty much the perfect harem skill, his stats grow faster when he has strong feelings towards someone. I’m not a huge fan of the skill, but I do like how the series tries to incorporate many of these RPG elements into a “normal” lifestyle.

[HorribleSubs] DanMachi - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_17.03_[2015.04.04_08.08.55]

One issue I had with the manga was that Bell’s default state was pretty much just “training in the dungeon”…meanwhile, all sorts of things are happening with the other characters. Maybe I just didn’t get far enough into the story, so we’ll see how the anime goes. Music-wise, I’m not sure whether the song at the end was supposed to be the ending song or the opening song, but I would classify it as “only okay”. Maybe it was the vocals, but I just can’t imagine myself listening to that over and over. If I remember the story from the manga correctly, next week’s episode should have to do with a monster escaping into the city? I think that’s what the title Monster Festival refers to…

Leave your comments here

