Death Parade Episode 3: Changing it up

[HorribleSubs] Death Parade - 03 [720p].mkv_snapshot_13.17_[2015.01.24_13.13.10]

Not bad. I definitely take back anything I said about comparing this to Hell Girl. There’s a lot more variation already in this show. Rather than focusing on corruption of humanity like the first episode, this week’s episode was much warmer. At the very least, it won’t be the same “trust no one” approach, right? Also, Decim’s interactions with the assistant woman (has she been named yet?) are actually pretty entertaining.

I still have a lot of questions about the setting, though. I’m sure those two weren’t the only ones on the bus that died…what happened to the others? Does there have to be some sort of seed of love between the couples that enter? Also, who determines what memories are lost? Is there someone behind the scenes that watches too much anime deciding how to puppet these couples by conveniently taking away and returning memories? Also, what happens if someone can’t play the game that is brought up on the roulette?

[HorribleSubs] Death Parade - 03 [720p].mkv_snapshot_18.27_[2015.01.24_13.18.24]

So now we reach an interesting crossroads in the show. My guess was that the couple in the preview is an older married couple (we’ve had newer couples up to now). The show could fall back into the corruption motif (which isn’t necessarily a bad thing) or it could take a third direction with this pair. The show certainly has my attention now. Also, I still question the ultimate purpose of the show. In Hell Girl (last time I use this comparison, I swear), the point was to free the girl from her duties, but I somehow doubt this is the case with Decim. Showing the beauty of humanity to Decim also seems too cheesy…maybe some conflict will appear? I guess they could throw in an antagonist…

As a final note, I’d like to say that these songs are really starting to grow on me…the opening song didn’t leavie a huge impression with me the first time, but I’m starting to come around to what everyone else is hyping about it.

Leave your comments here

