Junketsu no Maria First Impressions (1): That was a bit weird

[HorribleSubs] Maria the Virgin Witch - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_04.23_[2015.01.13_06.39.23]

Well, my curiosity has put me in another awkward position. I’m not entirely sure what I was supposed to get out of this first episode. I get that we have the virgin witch Maria and she hates wars, so she uses her powers to intervene. But is there some overarching point to all of this yet? This episode actually seemed a lot like setup or introduction. Standard tension between Catholic Church and witches…not much more to say here. The bishop being ironically skewered while yelling of God’s protection was pretty classic, though.

I’ll probably make my judgment about this show based on the next episode or so…the synopsis seems to indicate that there is a reason for all of this, but it just hasn’t been fully revealed yet. The song playing at the end of the episode was pretty good on first impression too. As of now, I don’t really plan to follow the show, but I’m willing to keep giving it a try.

Leave your comments here

